Personal bashing is not campaigning

I admit that I have a love/hate relationship with the upcoming elections.  I love the freedom and rights we have to vote, but I hate the level of negativity that has been reached in state and national campaigns.

Why is there a need to make personal attacks?  Why do we need to resort to name calling and making unfounded generalizations about parties and supporters?  There are more scowls than smiles.  More angry shouting than thoughtful debates and conversations.

We have an anti-bullying movement right now centered around our young people.  How about an anti-bullying movement around campaigns?  What kind of an example do we (those who are even slightly politically active) set when we post a video on Facebook or Twitter about how “It gets better…” one minute, then follow it with a mean spirited post/video/meme about a candidate or campaign a few minutes later?

I don’t consider myself above the fray in all of this, as I’ve had to look at what I’ve done in the not too distant past.  Now, however, I can decide not to engage in this behavior even further.  Hopefully others will feel the same way and decide to be consistent in messaging opinions and suggestions.

By aliciainedmonds Posted in General

Leave a Reply

